DaimlerChrysler Corporation Fund and New Detroit Science Center Present “Closing the Technology Gap in Education” Awards

* First-place winners are from White Lake, Shelby Township and Inkster, Mich.
* $87,000 in grants awarded

Auburn Hills, Mich., May 13, 2006 –

DaimlerChrysler Corporation Fund and New Detroit Science Center announced the winners of the “Closing the Technology Gap in Education” Awards, a new award that recognizes Michigan public school educators who have taken extra steps to stimulate students in the areas of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). With this new program, the Company hopes to further encourage students to pursue careers in technical fields, thus eventually filling future jobs in the auto industry workforce.

“Through our Closing the Technology Gap in Education Awards competition, we are shining a spotlight on educators who demonstrate their passion and enthusiasm for creatively teaching students science, math, engineering and technology,” said Eric Ridenour, Chief Operating Officer – Chrysler Group. “At Chrysler Group, we look for the best and the brightest, and we want to help encourage young people to enter fields that require technical backgrounds. It’s imperative for the success of our economy and our future workforce.”

Gov. Jennifer Granholm served as the honorary chair for the awards program and congratulated the educators “for going above and beyond in the classroom to ignite and excite the imagination of our kids in science and math, engineering and technology.”

Thirty schools received cash prizes totaling $87,000. A total of 10 prizes were awarded for each school level: elementary, middle/junior and high school. First through third-prize winners received $15,000, $7,500 and $3,000, respectively, while winners who placed fourth through 10th place received $500 honorariums. The grants will go to the schools to help build and strengthen existing STEM curriculums.

“It is exciting to see that great teaching is happening in classrooms all over the State of Michigan,” said Julie Flashner, New Detroit Science Center Group Sales Manager. “Educators are making science, math, technology and engineering relevant to students by engaging them in investigations and solving real life problems. Thanks to these teachers, I think we’ll see more engineers and scientists coming out of Michigan schools in the future.”

Ridenour presented the awards to the following teachers and their respective schools:

Chris McAuliffe, Oxbow Elementary School, White Lake, First Place
Linda Keteyian, Higgins Elementary School, Detroit, Second Place
Richard Tabor, Amerman Elementary School, Northville, Third Place
Fourth – 10th Place
Rebecca Briggs, Haviland Elementary School, Waterford
Monica Nick, Jefferson Elementary School, Redford
Cindy Carson, Doherty Elementary School, West Bloomfield
Trina Byerley and Alyssa Mason, Weston Elementary School, Imlay City
Suzanne O’Brien, Fox Elementary School, Macomb
Annette Kirschenmann, Forest Park Elementary School, Eastpointe
Julie Carlson, Tammy Nemetz, Sarita Shetenhelm and Debbie Storms, Star Elementary, Hastings

Middle School
Harry Istok, Malow Junior High School, Shelby Township, First Place
Dwight Sieggreen, Hillside Middle School, Northville, Second Place
Donna Tarsavage, Helen Keller Middle School, Royal Oak, Third Place
Fourth – 10th Place
Robert Green, Edward “Duke” Ellington Conservatory of Music and Art, Detroit
June Teisan, Harper Woods Middle School, Harper Woods
Alycia Meriweather, Farwell Middle School, Detroit
Chuck Schepke, Roscomomon Middle School, Roscommon
Laura Glish, Baker Middle School, Troy
Carl Zoolkoski, Liz Dallou, April Dobbs, Christine Kutchen and Beth Simon, Oakview Middle School, Oakland Twp.
Patricia Ann McNinch, Mayville Middle School, Mayville

High School
Kate Fanelli, Beacon Day Treatment Center, Inkster, First Place
Deborah Hasselschwert, Laker High School, Pigeon, Second Place
Colin Freel, Rogers City High School, Rogers City, Third Place
Fourth – 10th Place
Jennifer Petty Gottlieb, Troy Athens High School, Troy
Melissa Faitel Cragg, Lamphere High School, Madison Heights
Kathleen Betrus, Lincoln High School, Ypsilanti
Sean Hickman, Pinckney High School, Pinckney
William “Tom” Green, Bolles Harbor Mathematics and Science Center High School, Monroe
John Goudie, Kalamazoo Area Mathematics and Science Center High School, Kalamazoo
Michael McIntyre, Oakland Schools Technical Campus Northeast, Pontiac

The 30 winners were selected based on submissions that demonstrated unique and creative avenues for teaching students math, science, technology and engineering skills while bringing passion and excitement to the classroom. A panel of independent judges from prestigious science, technology, engineering and math arenas, including University of Michigan, Lawrence Technological University and Detroit Area Pre-College Engineering Program (DAP-CEP) determined the winners.

The awards were presented at the New Detroit Science Center and are expected to become an annual ceremony.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: